Garden Bloggers‘ Bloom Day – March 2022

Published on March 15 2022

It has been very dry here in Zurich, Switzerland (hardiness zone 7b) this last month, worringly dry. We had no significant rainfall since the end of February – just an endless string of sunny days. And what's even more worrisome, there's no rain predicted for the next two weeks. The soil has started to dry out, some weeds have died already...
We also had quite a few cold nights the last couple of weeks, but nothing too bad. The temperatures went down to a minimum of -5C/23F one time. Still, this winter was one of the mildest ever around here (-5C being the lowest temperature for the entire season). 
While some nights were cold, the days were always relatively warm. Which is a good thing for the flowers in my garden.
With Garden Bloggers‘ Bloom Day, a monthly blogging series, people from all over the world are featuring the flowers in their gardens. Go over and check out the other participants‘ blooming spectacles at Carol's May Dreams Gardens.

The evergreen Ribes laurifolium is now in glorious full bloom. Luckily, the freezing nights didn't cause any damage to these lovely pale-green blooms.
 

These are Crocus chrysanthus 'Cream Beauty' apparently. I planted them last fall and was expecting something completely different. They should have been a nice pale cream color, instead they‘re bright yellow on the inside and white on the outside. They’re definitely too brightly colored for my garden at this time of the year. People on Instagram told me, these might not be the real 'Cream Beauty'. Well, sometimes it’s a gamble with gardening. (Update: I just found out they might be the cultivar Crocus chrysanthus 'Romance'.)

Euphorbia myrsinites is starting to bloom. It does seed around the garden. And I'm fine with that (for now).
 

Lots of blooms on Grevillea victoriae, though a bit hard to photograph in the bright light. An awsome Aussie plant.
 

The flowers of Helleborus foetidus are pretty weird looking. To me, they look like small mouths with a bit of lipstick on, but like put on kinda badly:)
 

Corydalis cava grows wild in my garden, but only in a few spots. It doesn't really spread. 
 

Slowly, Mahonia x media 'Winter Sun' is winding down. But there are still a bunch of blooms left. It has been blooming since November. Will it still be blooming next Bloom Day?
 

The Primulas are really weedy here and they're the perfect hiding place for snails and slugs. So I try to take most of them out. But I do find them pretty.
 

The snowdrops are more or less done for this year. Only a few are left. I noticed that the marking on this specific flower has a more yellowish tone to it, like on one of those fancy cultivars that the galanthophiles love.
 

A bumblebee on Arbutus unedo 'Atlantic'. The plant and the blooms don't look their best anymore at this time of the year. The pollinators don't care.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
K
As depressed as I am about the rainfall (or rather lack of it) in Southern California, I'm even more disturbed that you're experiencing something of the same problem in Zurich! I love the greenish Ribes laurifolium, a species I haven's seen here. I also thought your description of the flowers of Hellecorus foetidus was right on point ;)<br /> <br /> Thanks for the possible ID on the Abelia/Linnaea! The photos of the Mexican Abelia look closer than the alternative I'd uncovered. The leaves on my plant still look larger than those I see in the photos online but, perhaps it'll seem a closer match once the flowers on mine open more fully.
Reply
Yeah, no rain in early spring is not great. Now would be the time to start sowing things, but I think I'll have to wait with that for a change in the weather.<br /> I noticed the different leave size between your Abelia and the Mexican Abelia, too. Maybe it's a hybrid or a special selection...<br /> Thanks for commenting, happy Bloom Day!